water

don’t stand there in the silence like water dripping from my bathroom sink. water that never seems to stop. water that can’t stop. don’t stop running. run back to me. make me feel whole. make me feel worthy. put your hands on me. gently. touch me with elegance. look into my eyes like a lovely bit of prose written by your favorite poet. your favorite author. your favorite something. i want to be on your list of things to do. the list of things you love. tell me how to be that for you. listen to songs you love and think of me. i hope it breaks you down. i want the best and absolute worst for you and i mean that in the most endearing of ways. i miss your eyes. the green that i despise now. i now wear green on my skin head to toe because of her. because of you. i’m a monster now. your name still makes me clench my fists and grind my teeth. i’ve turned into this behemoth. a beast that wants to destroy her limb from limb. you don’t think of me now. i’m nothing more than an old dress shirt hanging in your closet that you never wear. nothing more than the dust on your shelves or books you’ve never read. so why am i still here. why am i still the annoying drip of water from your bathroom sink. why am i so wasteful and why am i still waiting. for you, of course. all of this is for you. 

Leave a Reply

